Skip to main content
This section is included in your selections.

A. Pursuant to the authority conferred by Chapter 44, Law of Washington of 1935, as amended (Ch. 35.63 RCW, as amended), there shall be a Kettle Falls planning commission, consisting of five members who shall be appointed by the mayor and confirmed by the city council. The membership of the commission is to be made up of city residents. (Ord. 1560, §4, 1998; Ord. 1713, §2, 2012).

B. The term of office of the five members appointed by the mayor and confirmed by the council shall be six years, and the terms shall expire in rotation on the second Monday in January of each succeeding year. (Ord. 1713, §2, 2012).

C. Vacancies occurring otherwise than through the expiration of terms shall be filled for the unexpired terms. Members may be removed, after public hearing, by the mayor, with the approval of the city council, for inefficiency, neglect of duty of malfeasance in office. Notice of the charge and pendency of the hearing with respect to the removal of a member of the planning commission shall be given by mail addressed to the residence of the accused member at least five days before the date of said hearing. The members shall be selected without respect to political affiliations and they shall serve without compensation; provided, however, they may be reimbursed for expenses necessarily incurred in performing their official duties.

D. In case of a conflict of interest arising, with respect to a member of the planning commission, said member shall not participate in the proceedings at hand. (Ord. 1303, §1, 1978; Ord. 1340, §2, 1978).